2020-2021 West Virginia Pharmacists Association Awards Announced, four representing WVU

The West Virginia Pharmacists Association (WVPA) held its 114th Annual Convention virtually on Sunday, Oct. 24. Four pharmacists, a mix of alumni and faculty representing the WVU School of Pharmacy, were honored by the Association as awards were presented for both 2020 and 2021. Past President and Awards Committee Chair Tom Menighan (BS Pharm, ’74) presented the awards. Congratulations to the following outstanding pharmacists.

Dr. Gretchen Garofoli

Drs. Gretchen Garofoli and William P. Petros (BS Pharm, ’83) received the 2020 and 2021 Beal Award consecutively. In memory of Dr. James H. Beal, co-founder of the West Virginia Pharmacists Association, The Beal Award is deemed the highest honor given to a member of the Association. In recognition of this award, the recipient must demonstrate meritorious services in furthering the interests of the profession of pharmacy in West Virginia. Garofoli, clinical associate professor at the West Virginia University School of Pharmacy, was nominated in response to her efforts and commitment to launching the WV Community Pharmacy Enhanced Services (CPESN) Network. “While this is just a small portion of Gretchen’s contributions to the profession, as the Lead Network Facilitator, it no doubt exemplifies the qualifications of this award,” said her nominator. Dr. Petros, Gates Wigner Dean of the

Dean William P. Petros

WVU School of Pharmacy, was nominated for his long-standing leadership at WVU, tenure with the Mary Babb Randolph Cancer Center, and his current role as Dean. However, Menighan said his recent leadership during the pandemic highlighted his abilities. His nominator said, “They say that real leaders become apparent during the most challenging of times, and this is certainly true of Dean Petros. He not only organized the clinics but manned the front lines with scores of pharmacists, technicians and volunteers at every single one of them. Leaving the comfortable Dean’s office suite, he donned his white coat to personally draw up or directly supervise nearly every dose of the 15,000 doses given at WVU.” Menighan added, “A pharmacist’s pharmacist for sure! Can you say ‘tireless?”

Dr. Katie Kacmarik

Dr. Katie Kacmarik (PharmD, ’12) received the 2021 Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award, a tribute created in 1987 to encourage newer pharmacists to become involved in association activities and community service. The award recognizes one pharmacist in each state for individual excellence and outstanding contributions. Kacmarik is a managing pharmacist at Moundsville Pharmacy and is certified in diabetes, immunizations and medication therapy management; and collaborates with the WVU Extension on its Dining and Diabetes program. Her nominator wrote, “While her professional accomplishments are impressive on their own, her volunteer roles have even further distinguished her amongst her peers. Dr. Kacmarik has been an active member of the Ohio-Marshall County Pharmacists Association since her graduation – serving as Vice President from 2012-13 and President of the association since 2014 – a total of 7 years. She has also served as Director on the Board, Vice President, and currently as President of the West Virginia Pharmacists Association.”

Dr. Krista Capehart received the 2021 Bowl of Hygeia Award, which is presented annually by 

Dr. Krista Capehart

participating pharmacy associations in fifty states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. The recipients are selected by their respective associations for their outstanding record of community service. Dr. Capehart is a clinical associate professor at the WVU School of Pharmacy and Director of the Wigner Institute for Advanced Pharmacy Practice, Education and Research. She was nominated for her work with pharmacy legislation, particularly her strong leadership in the passage of West Virginia’s Provider Status Bill. In addition, she was honored for her role as architect of the state’s COVID-19 vaccine rollout. This challenge required an open mind, an understanding of our communities, a commitment with a “whatever-it-takes” posture, and a lot of trust in the pharmacist professionals across the state,” said her nominator. Menighan added, “And as we all know, her approach was so successful that it drew national and international attention in demonstrating how a community of pharmacists could successfully respond to public health threats.”

The awards will be presented in person April 1-3 at the 2022 Annual Convention at Stonewall Resort in Roanoke, West Virginia.