The 2022 West Virginia Pharmacy Association (WVPA) Spring Conference was more like a homecoming as members gathered in person once again. The conference, hosted by WVPA and the West Virginia Society of Health System Pharmacists (WVSHP), was held April 1-3 at Stonewall Resort in Roanoke, WV. 

The annual conference is open to pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, residents and students. During the two-day event, participants attend continuing education (CE) sessions on topics such as new drugs, diabetes and drug diversion. Clinical Assistant Professor Dr. Ashleigh Barrickman, Clinical Associate Professor Dr. Ashlee McMillan, Clinical Assistant Professor Dr. Mark Garofoli and Clinical Associate Professor Dr. Gretchen Garofoli from the WVU School of Pharmacy were among the presenters.

Award recipients announced at the WVPA Virtual Conference last fall were acknowledged in person. Past President and Awards Committee Chair Tom Menighan (BS Pharm, ’74) presented the honorees with their awards. 

Tom Menighan and Dr. Gretechen Garofoli

Gretchen Garofoli and William P. Petros (BS Pharm, ’83) received the 2020 and 2021 Beal Awards consecutively. In memory of Dr. James H. Beal, co-founder of the West Virginia Pharmacists Association, The Beal Award is regarded as the highest honor given to a member of the Association. In recognition of this award, the recipient must demonstrate meritorious services in furthering the interests of the profession of pharmacy in West Virginia.

Garofoli was nominated in response to her efforts and commitment to launching the WV Community Pharmacy Enhanced Services (CPESN) Network.  

Tom Menighan and Dr. William Petros

Petros, Gates Wigner Dean of the WVU School of Pharmacy, was nominated for his long-standing leadership at WVU, tenure with the Mary Babb Randolph Cancer Center, and his current role as Dean. 

Dr. Krista Capehart

Dr. Krista Capehart received the 2021 Bowl of Hygeia Award, presented annually by participating pharmacy associations in fifty states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. The recipients are selected by their respective associations for their outstanding record of community service. In addition to her role as a clinical associate professor at the WVU School of Pharmacy, she is the Director of the Wigner Institute for Advanced Pharmacy Practice, Education and Research. She was nominated for her work with pharmacy legislation, particularly her strong leadership in the passage of West Virginia’s Provider Status Bill. In addition, she was honored for her role as architect of the state’s COVID-19 vaccine rollout.  

Tom Menighan and Dr. Katie Kacmarik

Katie Kacmarik (PharmD, ’12) received the 2021 Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award, a tribute created in 1987 to encourage newer pharmacists to become involved in association activities and community service. The award recognizes one pharmacist in each state for individual excellence and outstanding contributions. Kacmarik is a managing pharmacist at Moundsville Pharmacy and is certified in diabetes, immunizations and medication therapy management; and collaborates with the WVU Extension on its Dining and Diabetes program. 

In addition to the business at hand, there was time for socializing. A casual barbecue with firepits and games replaced the traditional awards dinner. The School of Pharmacy is currently hosting students from the National University of Science and Technology in Oman. Three of the visiting students attended the conference. They enjoyed the barbecue and the Wild and Wonderful views at Stonewall Resort.