On Saturday, May 13, 2023, 68 PharmD and five PhD graduates were hooded at the West Virginia University School of Pharmacy's Commencement ceremony held in the WVU Canady Creative Arts Center. Dr. William Petros, Gates Wigner Dean of the WVU School of Pharmacy, was the keynote speaker.

"For the PharmD candidates, you are now joining a group of professionals commonly referred to as the most widely accessible medical providers," said Dr. Petros. "Given the value of pharmacists to public health, particularly demonstrated during the pandemic, the community and the healthcare system need your innovation, leadership and collaborative skills."

Other speakers included Dr. Clay Marsh, Chancellor and Executive Dean of West Virginia University Health Sciences and Gianna Antione, the 2023 Class President.

Several graduates received awards during the ceremony. They are listed below.

APhA-ASP Senior Recognition Certificate
Miranda Moser

Dean's Volunteer Service Award
Olivia Murray
Alexandra Weaver

Dean's Outstanding Achievement
Hunter Curry
Brandon Harvey
Brooke Kielkowski
Marianna Kibak

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award
Seneca Williams

Wolters Kluwer Award of Excellence in Clinical Communication
Brandon Harvey

James K. Lim Pharmacy Academic Achievement Award
Sydney Bongiorni
Emily Bowman
Autumn Fleming
Shaylee Gunzenhauser
Taylor Jones
Isaac Pringle
Dixie Shahan
Molly Swartzmiller
James Wyland

Viatris Excellence in Pharmacy
Clara Lukomski

Watch a recording of the ceremony.

View photos from the ceremony.