For the third year in a row, West Virginia University is the International Society for Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research (ISPOR) Outstanding Student Chapter of the Year.  

The WVU ISPOR student chapter, led by president Mona Nili, President-elect Nazneen Fatima Shaikh, Secretary Rowida Mohamed and Treasurer Yves Mbous, is among 120 representing more than 30 countries. Organizers of ISPOR’s annual Student Network Awards report that they had a record number of submissions this year.

“I have seen that each year the bar is raised higher and the chapter leadership and members have exceeded the expectations,” said Dr. Usha Sambamoorthi, WVU ISPOR faculty advisor. “I am also impressed with the breadth of our chapter’s activities this year.  I credit Mona and Nazneen for their outstanding collaboration.”

 Student chapters are judged on their level of year-round activities, which included scholarly pursuits and educational activities, community outreach, membership outreach and social events. 

ISPOR also recognized WVU for two additional awards. Nili and Shaikh earned the Student Chapter Leader Distinguished Service Award. 

For a complete list of winners, visit